music in my head

I’ve been listening to far too much soca recently. I’m hoping to share these songs to free me of these songs.

Here’s to hoping its transferable.

I literally cannot asking myself or anyone the time without hearing this song. I used to be horribly offended by it. The idea of being 6:30’d in a party or on the road is not becoming at all, but I won’t lie I’ve tried to see if I could do the 6:30 b/c the 6:15 not not good enough.

Oh the despair. Please free me! I need to be able to ask, “what time is it?” without the thought of being folded over.

************

I have a love for Edwin Yearwood and Krossfyah that goes back to this being the first song I learned on pan in high school. When I saw him perform this I wasn’t quite as in love anymore, gold locks are not the business but I was still ready ready ready ready ready to love it and him all over again.

************

They say dancehall is violent. But apparently so is soca, it’s something we (womyn) required to brace ourselves for. I didn’t even realise this was an Alison.

I can actually say I’ve witnessed a jones and brace.

*************

in search of a far calmer, less instructive soundtrack

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

