ATM Horror Stories

I had a nice cheery Things-I-heart-about-this-time-of-year post in my head but then I went to the ATM this morning and was immediately brought back to reality.

Shit is expensive, everything is expensive, no apparent rhyme or reason, just plain expensive. I generally try to watch my spending, I would get into a nice rhythm with a decent month end account balance and then something happens and I have to spend $800 of of the blue and my budget is shot to hell.

Usually that financial shock is usually a car or medical expense and and it is generally absorbed but this time around I went on vacation and spent ALL ( I mean ALL) my money. So now it’s the week before Christmas and I am looking at my ATM receipt in shock and horror.

I should get paid sometime this week ( all my fellow Caribbean civil service workers I know you feel me) so I will get stuff for the loved ones then but I will need to budget wisely for January. for reals.

This post was late because I actually downloaded a budget app for my phone and entered all the receipts I could find and I hope to track my spending for the next month or so. I wanna tally up every bottle of water and coffee and every other random little expense because I need to get my shit in order.

I will be 30 in less than a month and big things shall be poppin so I need to have some money so I can keep my swag sauce dripping 🙂 And by swag sauce I mean a down payment for a house 😀

Fyah family, I am hoping yall can encourage me, any software or financial websites or general good advice is welcomed.

Comments on: "ATM Horror Stories" (2)

  1. Oooo… Can’t wait to visit the new house. I’m actually convinced there’s a money fairy thief. It’s the only way to explain the rate at which $$$ leave my account. Surely I can’t be so careless. So 2012 I say we start the hunt for the money fairy thief, and if some limbs are broken…

  2. pieces2peace said:

    When you figure out how to save money please let me know. It’s quite an elusive thing in my world – saving it is like trying to store water in my cupped hands.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

