Back in the days

I watch a lot of television. Probably too much. As a consequence, I sometimes watch a whole lot of shit that, for fear of immediate judgement , I will not list at this point. My big shows right now aren’t too bad. I love love love Top Chef Texas, Love it or List it, Glee, Project Runway  and Chopped. See, not bad at all. I must list for good measure however any kind of  Law and Order.

Law and order leads directly into this post as it is a perfect example of shows that aren’t quite what they used to be. Still gripping and interesting to watch but not quite as awesome.  I wanted to big up some shows that are no longer in production but thanks to syndication and Centric  I get to enjoy on a fairly regular basis.

Living Single.

Word to Maxine Shaw! I loved this show. The original group of friends (yes I took it there) living and loving together, the sweet couple, the sexual tension, the gold digger, the aspiring entertainment mogol (Khadijah owned a magazine yall, that’s certainly fyah) all made for a great 30 mins of television. I loved the regular-ness of the characters, for the most part they were people I could definitely relate to and wanted to be when I grew up.

New York Undercover I think I got into this show after it was cancelled but I just couldn’t believe that these sexxi sexxi detectives were running the gritty streets of NYC solving crimes and stuff. Detective Williams was all I needed to make me watch but the story lines were quite thought provoking and dealt with issues that we all can relate to and not ripped from the headlines stories that other crime dramas are famous for.

The Wire

In my opinion THE.BEST.SHOW.EVER. Again, I got into The Wire after it ended and was hugely motivated by the man who redefined sexy Idris Elba but even after he was no longer on the show I was captivated and moved and inspired by the characters presented. The seasons featuring the lives of children are particularly touching to me and I have shed many tears and wished many wishes for them and their circumstances knowing that this is real life to many around us.

King of Queens

Doug and Carrie and Arthur make me smile. Thanks to Derevolushunwidin for introducing me to this one a few years back and it has been a great ride since.

Comments on: "Back in the days" (5)

  1. lol I can’t believe you put King of Queens. But the show’s hilarious without a doubt. You have no idea who to feel more sympathy for in that relationship.

    Living Single… you had to take it there, it predated friends. I don’t know if I thought they were regular- except for Khadija, I miss that Queen Latifah. A friend once told me that in retrospect she reads Maxine and Kyle as queer w/ I found quite interesting.

    Never watched New York Undercover but the sexy Malik Yoba certainly does provide some source of motivation.

    The Wire I REFUSE to watch. I’m sure it’s the best show ever. You say so, pieces2peace says so… a whole host of people say so but I like my shows white and light and that far from meets my requirements. Can’t handle the drama.

    Things on fyah from time!

    • If Obie and Sinclaire aren’t regular we have varying definitions of regular-ness. Regine’s character is also quite familiar

      Malik sexy bad for real though.

  2. Will the real Maxine Shaw stand up!!!!! You know I always thought Living Single was way better than Friends (I took it there too, and I am a Friends fanatic), and I still say Girlfriends was a tired ole rip off as well *big grin*, thus the reason I never got emotionally invested like others did with Joan and dem. I aspired to be as strong and straight forward as Maxine Shaw (you have to use both first and last name for emphasis), and as ambitious and funny sweet as Khadijah. The Wire I never watched, because I thought I wouldn’t be able to sleep at night ever again. King of Queens is alright, Doug is a nicer version of Raymond, who I totallyyyyy love. I used to watch New York Undercover for the men; I can’t remember much about the plots.

  3. pieces2peace said:

    The Wire is goodness! As is King of Queens!

    I don’t remember Living Single well enough but I remember enjoying it. Co-sign on Malik Yoba sexiness.

  4. I found a YouTube user that had uploaded ALL the seasons of NY Undercover. I was so excited.. until I watched it again. I think that one is better left in the 90s.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

