1. I hate Mondays. I really do. I am convinced that there’s a chemical in my body that makes me allergic to them. People say that it’s just because it’s the start of the week, but that’s a lie. I worked Tuesdays to Fridays for about 4 months and Tuesdays were fine. Mondays are just ridiculous. I originally thought that maybe we should get down with capitalism and do an ad-campaign to re-brand Mondays, maybe make them “Fun Mondays”, get workplaces to have extended lunch hours & board games or something, but I realise now that they’re actually hopeless. They should be abolished.
  2. Writing is really difficult for me. I’m doing a 30 day challenge (that turned into a 60 day challenge because we’re doing it every other day), that involves writing letters to designated people everyday. My letter on the first day was so therapeutic and then I just fell off. Also, despite the fact that this blog started off as an idea in my head which I then shared with my sis & my cuz, I inevitably put off the writing till the last minute. It’s the same thing with my million poetry and short story ideas. I love writing and would like to commit to doing it, but subconsciously associate it with a bad breakup/unhealthy relationship and also, it’s one of the few things I enjoy and am good at but still have to work on – I’m lazy, I want everything to happen instantly.
  3. I love tattoos and piercings. I got my 4th tattoo yesterday. I have 11 piercings. A part of the reason I’m drawn to body art & piercings is because it’s in direct conflict with the good girl/innocent image people had of me when I was growing up. But more than that, it’s because I have no patience or discipline. Tattoos and piercings are expensive and painful, and the pain doesn’t stop if I decide to ignore them, not take care of them or (in the case of piercings) just take them out. They force me to have a daily routine for cleaning & caring for them. They force me to watch and wait. They force me to see that little steps do lead somewhere. This is something I rarely have the patience to remember sometimes.

People of the Fyah Universe, what’s on your mind?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

