Random goodness…

Happy Friday everyone! It’s the beginning of my last full weekend in Toronto so my apartment is crowded with boxes, suitcases and (in a few hours) people. I wanted to keep things light today, since everything else is feeling so heavy right now (I’m oscillating between being overjoyed and breaking down in tears).

I thank god for Facebook sometimes and the random things people share such as 25 Handy Words That Simply Don’t Exist in English. My personal favourites on the list are arigata-meiwaku, l’esprit de l’escalier (because this always happens to me) and mamihlapinatapai (because it sounds kind of beautiful).

One of my friends and I constantly have discussions about body hair. If she had unlimited funds, she would probably laser every strand of hair that grows on her below her eyes. I’m not sure I wouldn’t do the same thing (even my conditioning has been conditioned) but I definitely fight it and question it a little bit more. Said friend passed on this article on ideal body hair to me which I found to be hilarious (and disturbing at the same time). Even if you don’t have time to read the whole thing, please scroll down and look at what three young men drew to represent “good” and “bad” body hair. We could discuss the policing of womyn’s bodies and hair forever, but those drawings both unsettle me and bring me so much joy.

Last but not least, the lovely trendsettah and my body hair friend passed on this blog to me, and when I finally looked at it, I was not remotely disappointed. I think of it as Toronto’s going away gift to me – something to always remember the bad dates, excellent brunches and white people at Caribana by. Thank you.

What random goodness have you come across, my wonderful fyah stirrers?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

