fyah Fridays!

I’ve been hella absent on the blogopshere over the last two weeks or so. I’m doing my best not to play catch up. Instead treating the information that’s out there like a river flowing by, sometimes you catch things, other times you won’t, but it’s a constant flow, lots of great stuff still to come.

Pride season is upon us. Over at Black Girl Dangerousย she puts forward reasons she not in pride these days. She speaks to how important a space it was for her when she was now coming out, identifying as queer over lesbian and/or gay and how all that money pumped into pride could be spent on more pressing issues of the lgbtq communities. Reading it, I was thinking about drawing similar paralells between her position and that of carnival. Be patient with me here b4 all you mas playing, tent visiting, fete hopping people fly into a rage. I get that carnival is routed in historical significance that is so crucial to our identity as Caribbean people, I myself love a j’ouvert but for me there is always a niggling feeling that the excess is also a sign of our distance from the very real issues we face as a people. This is becoming increasingly evident as so many spaces are becoming increasingly exclusive. Maybe I’ll expand on this more another time.

Theorising homophobias in the Caribbean- Complexities of Place, Desire & Belongingis out! Complete with short stories, films,

interviews, essays and other great stuff. Shouting out Zahra Airall and Charmaine Crawford for making me feel like I know people in things. ๐Ÿ™‚

I vaguely remember promising a pie by month end. I’ll be honest, I’m not sure how likely that it. We’ll see, it could happen. But what I did do was a mini craft project. Anyone interested can find the pattern here. My aunt taught me how initially as a child when I wasn’t pay attention. I came across this book and thought I’d become a crocheting queen. It didn’t really translate but ever so often I produce something decent looking. I made it far too small to be useful, so if anyone known a child who might like it I’ll be happy to send it your way. ๐Ÿ™‚ You should also check out our bookshelf over at goodreads!

Here’s to bringing some fyah to the wkd! ๐Ÿ™‚

Alison Hinds and Edwin Yearwood together?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

