Happy Friday!

My Friday links rarely are connected, but this week my links feel particularly random.

Starting on the light side, VH1 released its list of the 40 Greatest R&B Songs of the 90s. This list makes me think/realise a couple things:

  1. I really didn’t grow up in the 90s music-wise. In my head I think I did, but then I look at lists like this and don’t know half of these songs, and the half I do know I only know as a result of living in “old school” obsessed Toronto in the last few years of my life.
  2. Knowing half of the songs is kind of scary considering I did not grow up in and have never lived in the USA. I definitely am not as familiar with any era of Caribbean music much less Kittitian music. Even now when Caribbean music is more accessible, thanks to the internet, and an increase in Caribbean radio stations I just do not make the effort to keep up. Then again, I’m not up-to-date on any music as evidenced by an earlier post by Trendsettah.
  3. VH1 probably shouldn’t make best R&B song lists. They may be quite capable of putting together a pop/rock lite list (I’m not entirely certain about that), but this list doesn’t look right to me (even taking into account my lack of knowledge). This feeling was confirmed when I found SoulBounce’s Roundtable discussion on the list.

Next month in the Bahamas, there will be a series of workshops  “Re-Storying Whiteness: A Writing Workshop for Bahamians of European Descent Who Want to Heal Our Ancestral Legacies.” I stumbled upon this in an article on the writer who will be holding these workshops. Although I very much believe that there’s a whole lot of work all folks who hold privilege need to do on their own (men need to talk about sexism, straight people need to talk about homophobia, able bodied folks need to talk about ableism, white people about racism) without a token/all knowledgeable person who has experienced oppression as their/our guide, in practice I always am a little uncomfortable with it because it can, at least on a superficial level, very closely resemble the sites of exclusion that were/are integral parts of oppression.

FyahStirrers, what are your thoughts on the article? Do you like the idea? Does it make you uncomfortable?

Also, did you notice how clever the image on the post is? It’s someone stirring fire. We’re Fyah Stirrers… get it? 🙂

Comments on: "Happy Friday!" (3)

  1. I really knew 17/40; I did better than I thought.
    Things that make you go hmmmmmm…
    So firstly the title of the workshop made me uncomfortable. I read the use of the word heal as to feel better about. As I started to read the article though, I realised she was much more invested a discussion of privilege. I like you, and her see that as necessary. But somewhere in the second half she shifted into feel better about being white and whiteness.
    Her use of “present solutions” to privilege is also disconcerning. The answer to anti-oppression I do not think is one of “solution”, and even if it were those solutions wouldn’t come solely or even primarily from those with privilege.
    All that said, privilege is real hard to talk about, it’s very difficult to express what you mean and even easier to be misunderstood. I’m glad this is a closed-door conversation. I hope the outcomes however are not.
    I wish them well.

    • pieces2peace said:

      There were so many bits of the article that made me uncomfortable. ““I wanted to transform it so that I could love this Greek-Bahamian-European self. I want to love her; I don’t want to demonize whiteness and I don’t want to demonize my inheritance…” That inheritance piece confused me – I thought of all the white descendants of estate owners who inherited land that enslaved peoples worked and really was wondering how one could not demonize that.

      Then the “We don’t have many white Bahamians writing novels and that’s huge”, piece didn’t sit easily with me. Although I understand from the first half she’s talking about shifting the kinds of conversations around whiteness and white identities to acknowledge privilege, never would I have thought “We need more white (Caribbean) people writing to fix racism”. I get it on a level, but I’m a bit disturbed.

      Thank god the doors are closed indeed.

  2. […] I saw Pieces2peace from Add Fyah and Stir noting that there was an interesting sounding upcoming workshop in the Bahamas on “re-storying whiteness” focused on white Bahamian writers and […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

