My love of covers…

Most of the people I speak to regularly about music know how much I LOVE covers. Well, not all covers, just good ones.Really well done covers can inspire me to revisit the original and fall in love with the old even more deeply because of my love for the new.

1. Kwabs – The Wilhelm Scream

A friend put me onto the James Blake original late last year and I’d forgotten about it until another friend introduced me to Kwabs’ cover of Corinne Bailey Rae’s Like a Star, and then this. Now both this version and the original are on repeat and are tugging at my heart strings in different ways.

2. Nnenna Freelon – All of Me

I have my father to thank for this one. I didn’t even recognize this as a cover of Billie’s All of Me (which itself was a cover).

3. John Holt – Never Never Never

I recently discovered the original of this when my mother, who rarely knows music, sang every word on a car ride home. I will always think of that car ride when I hear this song and like any song worth its salt, there is a reggae version :).

Happy Wednesday!

Comments on: "My love of covers…" (2)

  1. Covers can be lovely.
    Here’s a favourite of mine.

  2. These are pretty awesome, thanks for sharing. John Holt does the job every.time

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

