I promised a while back a carnival music post. It’s festival time in the region! I was going to post about all the winners of soca monarch so far  followed by larging up the women competing in islands where the competition hasn’t been held yet. Then I started to search for women competing and low and behold I’m beginning to side with Destra, Denise and Fay-Ann have been saying for years is true: there are so few women (competing) in soca b/c the the industry is not supportive of women. I’d never taken their position too seriously, after all, they are staples in the industry. Shameful analysis I know… this is what happens when lyrics of rum, wine, jump and wave are in my head, I’m not as sharp as I should be. So I dedicate this post to the facts, competing in soca as a women cannot be an easy road, it must also be pretty lonely. Thank you Calypso Rose and the many others for helping pave the way.

Fya Empress in St. Vincent: Rum Please

Sergie in St. Lucia: Ah Drunk

Interesting theme between songs one and two.

Shout out to the women competing in the soca monarchs in Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados and Grenda.

Tizzy in Antigua & Barbuda: Give it to Me

Nathalee in Barbados: Good Wukka Man

Nekoyan in Grenada: Miss the  Plane

Wishing everyone a safe, enjoyable and exciting carnival!

*Relevant side note: I’m not feeling any of these songs in particular, but I’m sure if were in the country having the music pushed at my non-stop on the radio, in the bus, in the car I’d have clearer favourites.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

