Going regional this round.

The Caribbean athletes did phenomenon-ally in the Olympics. Special shout-outs to Kirani James and Lalonde. This the first time in a long time I’ve been unable to watch the games without getting worked up. I worry that my jadedness may ruin the simple things that I enjoy, but professional sports as a metaphor for capitalism is far too much at the forefront of my mind to enjoy it the way I used to.

Antigua, this is wholly unacceptable. I understand that there is a fine line to dance here surrounding censorship but I do think lines need to be drawn when it comes to endorsing violence. I spent a lot of time being excited about the various carnivals, but this song and the defence of it really soured my mood.

Guyana, I do not know how the protestors in Linden make it out every day.  300% rise in electricity in areas with such high unemployment. It makes me wonder if I would be on the line. What would stop me? What would put me there? I do think seeing Andaiye there may have shamed me into action. In this part of the region, especially with my class privilege there  are so many things I take for granted. Knowing that things are expensive and complaining about it while still being able to pull out the cash or swipe the card. When/ if they day comes I can no longer do that will it then seem to me more likely that I too would join that march?

Grenada, make your sole aerial and support this incredible campaign to support goat farmers!

Make a nice salad for yourself Nevis style, or some nice breadfruit cake* (never heard of this one).

Not regional but I’m pretty excited about this book. Maybe we should start a regional one, or a woc one. Black when used in an American context always seems a tad myopic.

The Ground Glass Collective has just put out a wonderfully, new beautiful set of pictures.

*So happy to see Caribbean Vegan back on the scene.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

