I officially declare myself a Baduizt. I wasn’t on board in the beginning. I blame immaturity.

The first turning point was an article from 2006/7-ish that I can no longer find where the interviewer spends a day Tobago for Jazz 17- The incredible Ms Baduwith Erykah Badu. It was so bizarre, I was left thinking either she is really left of centre or this was the world’s best performance of weirdness. The second turning point was seeing her perform live in Tobago.

The third, this quote from her conversation with the music snobs:

Interviewer: I love this, off the top, off the dome, let’s do this, Erykah who is yours? [your top 5 mcs]

Erykah Badu: I can’t do it off the dome, but I’ll try… yuh see I got babies by some of these people so I can’t do this.

The fourth, this quote from her interviewing Kendrick Lamar:

BADU: What do you, as a man, envy about what it means to be a woman?

LAMAR: There’s just a certain knowledge instilled in a woman. There are these things that women have that men just can’t grasp: the understanding of love;the understanding of being; having a certain type of care in your heart and knowing when to be compassionate; knowing how to be a confidante…

BADU: That’s a good perspective. Something I envy that men have is that ability to grow a goatee. I think that’d be really hot on me.

Join me in a little reminiscing:

Comments on: "makes the ppl come together- I’m a Baduizt" (1)

  1. Badu is a boss. I love the first set of quotes. she can’t be all reckless with mcs these days. lol

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

